Wisdom for Widows Nuggets #8

When dealing with the topic of opportunities, it’s important to realize that our spouse’s life has ended but God has allowed us additional time. We need to seek what God’s purposes for us are.  A good study to help determine our purposes is by looking up all the widows in the Bible. There are also historical widows to learn about. We might personally know widows who could be good role models of Godly widows serving the Lord.

There are many situations around your community in which you can help others. Maybe you know of elderly in your vicinity who would love to have you visit them. Make yourself aware of the current events in your area and think you may be able to be involved in helping those involved.

Begin a journal to help you decide where you can fill a need. Write down what you like to do, what you dream about, what kind of training you have, and then prayerfully ask God and seek His will for your life. Some widows find themselves helping the elderly and receive great fulfillment from doing so. Others may help out a young mom that needs a helping hand or some babysitting time. I found myself venturing into short-term mission trips, using my nursing and my long time heart’s desire to serve in missions.

Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. I once heard a message entitled “Missed Opportunities.” If you feel God has placed something on your heart, He will give you the strength and ability to do as He asks. Continue to pray and step out in faith. There are so many areas within the church and within our surroundings where God may want you to serve.

Psalm 71:17-18 says, “O God, Thou hast taught me from my youth; and I still declare Thy wondrous deeds. And even when I am old and gray, O God, do not forsake me, until I declare they strength to this generation, Thy power to all who are to come.”

May the Lord bless you as you seek his will for your life as a widow.

Kathy     praying-hands

Leave a comment